Search Ames Catalog
Search World Cat
Welcome
Hello. This guide will introduce you to general Art resources available in The Ames Library at Illinois Wesleyan University. It includes information on how to locate:
- Books, Audio & Video Recordings
- Journal Articles
- Key Art Information Sources (print & eclectronic)
- Guides to Web Resources
Find Books and Other Materials
Search Ames Catalog (box at left) for books & other materials owned by IWU.
- Best when searching by title.
- If IWU owns the item you may check it out.
- If IWU does not own the item, use I-Share to check other CARLI libraries to see if it is available. If so, you may request the item. If not, search World Cat option below.
VU Find Version of Catalog: an alternative to the classic version of the Ames Catalog with a more modern look & feel. This is particularly good for subject searching.
Search World Cat (box at left) for books & other materials worldwide.
- Best when searching by title.
- Choose the
button for availability.
Browse the Shelves:
N 1-9165 Visual arts (General) For photography, see TR
NA 1-9428 Architecture
NB 1-1952 Sculpture
NC 1-1940 Drawing. Design. Illustration
ND 25-3416 Painting
NE 1-3002 Print media
NK 1-9955 Decorative arts. Applied arts. Decoration and ornament Including antiques in general
NX
1-820 Arts in general Including works dealing with two or more of the
fine arts media, i. e. literature, performing arts, and the visual
arts. For works on any one of these subjects, see the subject, e.g.,
GV, M, N, P, TR
TR 1-1050 Photography
The Ames Library uses Library of Congress Classification.
Find Journal Articles
Use Quicklinks A-Z Journals to access holdings information about specific journal titles at the Ames Library
Use Quicklinks A-Z Databases to access of list of journal databases available at the Ames Library
Key Art Journal Databases:
Art Abstracts: 1983 to Present
Art Index: 1950-1994. Subject-author guide to art journal literature. Located in Ames third floor stacks. N1.A1A78
Arts & Humanities Citation Index: 1980 to Present. Indexes many of the world's key arts and humanities journals.
Humanities Abstracts: 1984 to Present. Indexes English language journals in a variety of areas including art and photography
JStor: Full-text electronic access to back files of core scholarly journals with image links to ARTstor
Key Art Information Sources
The following electronic and print resources provide scholarly information on topics related to Art. Titles with Library of Congress call numbers are located in the Reference Collection on the entry level of The Ames Library.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art & Artists (Chilvers) 4th ed., 2009
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (Clarke), 2003
Design Encyclopedia (Byars) Ref. NK1370.B93 2004
Focal Encyclopedia of Photography (Zakia/Stroebel), 3rd ed. Ref. TR9 .F6 1993
Grove Dictionary of Art (Turner) Ref. N31.D5 1996
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecure (Campbell) Ref. N5610.G76 2007
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts (Campbell) Ref. NK28.G76 2006
Oxford Companion to the Photograph (Lenman) TR9.O94 2005
Oxford Companion to Western Art (Brigstocke), 2003
Oxford Dictionary of American Art & Artists (Morgan), 2007
Oxford Dictionary of Art (Chilvers) 3rd ed., 2004
Oxford Dictionary of 20th c. Art (Chilvers), 2003
Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum of Art), 2009
Image Sources
American Memory: Digital images from historical collections of the Library of Congress
Artcyclopedia: Encyclopedia of museum quality art images from the Web
ARTstor: Repository of digital images from universities and museums worldwide, with article links from JStor
British Library Images: Online access to images from the British Library collections
Image Collections and Online Art: Links to digital art collections worldwide, hosted by the University of Michigan
National Portrait Gallery: Digital images of paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings, and photographs from NPG and the Catalog of American Portraits (CAP) collections.
NYPL Digital Library: Digital images from collections of the New York Public Library; includes Civil War photos, maps, sheet music cover art
Smithsonian American Art Museum: Collection and exhibitions provide subject access to over 3000 images
Contact Me |
Robert Delvin, Fine Arts Librarian, Professor110 Ames Library
Telephone: 309.556.3003
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Thr 1:00-3:00 pm; Friday 10:00 am-Noon; Mon. 7:00-9:00 pm (Sept. 14, 28, Oct. 12, 26, Nov.9, 23, Dec. 7, Jan. 4, 18, Feb. 1, 15, Mar. 1, 15, 29, Apr. 12, 26, May 10, 24)
Send Email
Subjects:
Fine Arts (Art, Music, Theatre Arts), MCLL, Religion
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait