Quicklinks
Find Journals
Use this tool to locate a specific journal, or to find an article if you have a complete citation.
Databases
Use these research databases to find articles from scholarly journals. They are also available from the A-Z list of databases, which is found on The Ames Library web site. An IWU netID and password are required for off campus access.
- Animal Diversity Web. Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan.
- BIOSIS Previews. Abstracts and indexes information from over 5,500 sources for the life sciences, including journal articles, meeting and conference reports, books, and patents. Coverage goes back to 1980.
- Web of Science: Science Citation Index. Indexes leading science and technology journals. Features cited reference searching, which allows users to discover who has cited a particular article or author. Coverage goes back to 1975.
- Zoological Record. Indexes worldwide publications covering all areas of zoology and animal science, including anatomy, behavior, conservation, distribution, ecology, evolution, nutrition, systematic, and veterinary science. Coverage goes back to 1978.
Journals/Journal Collections
You can also find journal articles by searching specific journal titles or journal collections. Most of the articles in these links will be available in fulltext. The following list contains journal titles & journal collections that are relevant for biology research. They are also available from the A-Z database list, which is found on the The Ames Library web site.
Books
Ames Library contains many books related to biology and its sub-disciplines. These books can be in print and online formats.
To search for books on your topic, start by looking in the Ames Library catalog for materials that are owned by our library. If Ames does not own the book, you can expand your search to the I-Share catalog, which is a listing of books and other items owned by other libraries in Illinois. If you find what you need in I-Share, you can request that book through I-Share and it should arrive at the library in 1-2 days. If I-Share fails you, you can continue your search in Worldcat, which is a union catalog of libaries from all over the world. If you find something in Worldcat, you can order it from another library by using our interlibrary loan program, ILLiad.
Contact me |
General Biology Resources
Use these resources the way you use Wikipedia: to get background information on your research topic, or to search for or narrow down a topic. Then use the databases shown to the right to get to the scholarly articles.





Loading...
