Get to know the chemistry resources available to you at IWU.
Databases, Publishers, Encyclopedias, Handbooks
- Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for over 4,600 journals and magazines, including book reviews, in a wide variety of disciplines, including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology and more. Excellent starting point.
- Chemical Abstracts / SciFinder
This resource is the online version of Chemical Abstracts, which indexes chemical research reported in journal articles, patents, symposia, conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, and new books. Coverage goes back to 1907. Registration is required.
- Crystallography Open Access Database
Open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers.
Database created by NIH to provide information about small organic molecules.
- Science Citation Index
This database indexes leading science and technology journals as well as some symposia proceedings. It features cited reference searching, which allows users to discover who has cited a particular article or author. Coverage goes back to 1975.
The Ames Library Catalog - Search the local catalog to find books and movies that you could find today.
I-Share Catalog - Widen your search to search over 90 libraries in Illinois. Use the Request Button on the search results tool bar for delivery of the item within a week.
WorldCat - For an even more extensive search, search books worldwide. Use the GetThis button and follow the interlibrary loan link to ILLiad. Please allow at least a week for delivery.
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals
Produced by the American Chemical Society, this group of publications is comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences. Over 34 full-text research journals are included.
- Elsevier ScienceDirect College Edition
This resource provides full text access to over 100 peer-reviewed journals in the natural and physical sciences. Coverage dates vary by journal.
Provides online access to the journal Nature, which publishes original scientific research as well as review articles about recent developments in various scientific disciplines. Coverage extends back to 2005.
- Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Journals
RSC (Royal Society of Chemistry) publishes many chemistry journals. IWU has full-text access to Chemical Communications, Chemical Society Reviews, Dalton Transactions, and Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry.
Provides online access to the peer-reviewed journal Science, published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Content includes original research results, developments in all fields of science and review articles. Full-text coverage is available back to 1997.
- Thieme - Synlett:
SYNLETT is an international journal reporting research results and trends in synthetic organic chemistry in short personalized reviews and preliminary communications.
- Thieme - Synthesis: Journal of Synthetic Organic Chemistry
SYNTHESIS is an international journal devoted to the advancement of the science of synthetic chemistry, covering all fields of organic chemistry, including catalysis, organometallic, medicinal, biological, and photochemistry, but also related disciplines.
- Wiley Online Library
This resource provides full-text access to journals in science, technology and medicine. Coverage dates vary by journal.
- Access Science
Online version of the Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, this resource includes the latest scientific news, biographies of scientists, and a study center featuring study guides, essays and bibliographies on various scientific topics. The Image Galleries provide graphics of scientific phenomena.
- ACS Style Guide
Published by the American Chemical Society, this guide provides the standard formatting for most chemistry papers and presentations.
- Aldrich Handbook
Free site by the chemical/biological company Sigma-Aldrich, providing spectral data and other useful information for a wide range of compounds.
- Chemical Entities of Biological Interest - ChEBI
Chemical Entities of Biological Interest (ChEBI) is a freely available dictionary of molecular entities focused on ‘small’ chemical compounds.
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 28 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
- Chrom-Ed Series (online books)
Online reference books in chromatography.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
Comprehensive one-volume reference resource for science research. The go to book for chemical data, particularly organic and common inorganic compounds.
- ITER - International Toxicity Estimates for Risk
Risk information for over 600 chemicals from authoritative groups worldwide.
- IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology
Descriptions of terminology relating to chemical structure and nomenclature.
- Merck Index
RS 51.M4 - An encyclopedia of over 10,000 chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
- NIST Chemsitry WebBook
- Organic Syntheses
Provides the chemistry community with detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility.
- SDBS - Integrated Spectral Database System for Organic Compounds
- WebElements - The Periodic Table on the WWW
WebElements aims to be a high quality source of information on the WWW relating to the periodic table. Coverage is such that professional scientists and students at school will all find something useful.
- Web Reactions