Encyclopedias, dictionaries, fact books, biographical info, newspapers,and citation style manuals
Last Updated: May 17, 2013
Atlas cases are near the Help@Ames desk. Map cases are located on the lower level near the computers. Ask at the Help@Ames Desk for assistance with either of these sources.
- National Geographic Xpeditions Maps
This interactive tool provides lessons plans, activites and an atlas to explore the world of geography. It has a search function you can use to search for specific geographic terms, locations, ideas within grade levels (or not).
- Harvard Map Collection-Digital Maps
A great source for digital maps. The collection features maps from around the world, with special emphasis on New England and Massachusetts.
Maplandia is a searchable online database of worldwide geographical features. The site offers basic information on continent, country, first-level administrative district, geographical coordinates, and national flag graphic; however, its interactive maps, satellite images, and user-generated content make it distinctive.
Besides offering just geographical maps, the site also includes information on population, manufacturing and production; transportation, movement, communication; health, disease, and death; religion and language; and food, housing, and education
- AMERICAN FACT FINDER
U.S. Census data, census clock, detailed data on age, sex, households, families, the population in group quarters, and housing units. Also included are counts for many race and Hispanic or Latino categories. State by state information is included.
- Measure of America
The American Human development index is a composite measure of wellbeing and opportunity. It combines indicators in three fundamental areas: health, knowledge, and standard of living, into a single number that falls on a scale between 1 and 10.
- U.S. Government Documents
This site provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
- Data.GOV -- Executive Branch Documents
Data sets of the executive branch of the federal government. Easy to use features help navigate you around the site.
- Europa World
Political and economic information in 250 countries.
Eurostat is a statistical unit of the European Union whose mission is to provide a "high-quality statistical informational service." Data is collected from the National Statistics Institute, the enlarged European Union, candidate countries, and the European Free Trade Association.
- Foreign Information by Country
Collection of links to websites for approximately 245 countries/territories with profiles and and information in seven categories. Very in depth comprehensive information about the countries but is not graphically pleasing to use.
- Housing and Urban Development
HUD is a source of reports and data complied on housing policy and programs, building technology, economic development, and city planning. HUD offers full ext of more than 500 housing reports, including regional and metropolitan housing market analyses.
- Information Please Almanac
Almanac of short factual information such as U.S. Presidents, sports trivia, calendar and holiday details, world structures & buildings, and inventions.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
U.S. Census Bureau statisics on population, health elections, housing, natural resources and many other topics. Also does some comparisons to international statisitcs. Appendices direct you to other statistical tools.
- Tax Statistics
This section of the IRS website provides a plethora of information about taxes and the tax system and is the ideal place to begin if doing research on taxes.
- University of Michigan Statistical Resources on the Web
A wealth of statistical information developed by the University of Michigan Libraries. You can search by subject and narrow the search by subtopic on the right side of the page. Most of the research is based on government documents.
More than statisitcs, its the official portal to all federal and state government information. From social security benefits, jobs, voter registration, public safety, environment, taxes and consumer guides; this site will lead you to souorces that the government collects information about.
- World Factbook
This factbook provides brief descriiptions of each of the 266 world entities including information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. The tabs includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as flags, a physical map, a political map, and standard time zones for the world map.