Search Ames Catalog
Search World Cat
Welcome
Hello. This guide will introduce you to general French Language resources available in The Ames Library at Illinois Wesleyan University. It includes information on how to locate:
- Books, Audio & Video Recordings
- Journal Articles
- Key French Language & Culture Information Sources
Find Books & Other Materials
Search Ames Catalog (box at left) for books & other materials owned by IWU.
- Best when searching by title.
- If IWU owns the item you may check it out.
- If IWU does not own the item, use I-Share to check other CARLI libraries to see if it is available. If so, you may request the item. If not, search World Cat option below.
VU Find Version of Catalog: an alternative to the classic version of the Ames Catalog with a more modern look & feel. This is particularly good for subject searching.
Search World Cat (box at left) for books and other materials worldwide.
- Best when searching by title.
- Choose the
button for availability.
Browse the Shelves:
History: General and Old World
DC 1-947 France
DH 1-925 Netherlands (Low Countries: Belgium & Luxembourg)
DT 1-3415 Africa
DT 521-555.9 French West Africa
History: America
F 1-975 United States Local History
F 1001-1140 British America, Canada
Languages and Literature
PC 2001-3761 Romance Languages - French,
Provencial
PQ1-3999 French Literature
The Ames Library uses Library of Congress Classification.
Journal Articles & Newspapers
Use Quicklinks A-Z Journals to access holdings information about specific journal titles at the Ames Library
Use Quicklinks A-Z Databases to access of list of journal databases available at the Ames Library
Key Religion Journal Databases:
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index: Arts & Humanities Citation Index. 1980 to Present.
- Academic Search Premier: 1990 to Present. Offers full-text infomation in nearly every area of academic study.
- Humanities Abstracts: 1984 to Present.
- Humanities Index: 1974 - 1993. A13.H85 (Ames lower level)
- JStor: Offers full-text access to back files of 47 core scholarly journals in Religion. Year of coverage vary.
- MLA Bibliography: 1926 to Present. Modern Language Association bibliography of literature, languages, linguistics from journals worldwide.
- Project Muse: 1993 to Present. Offers full-text access to over 160 scholarly journals.
- Selected Western European News & Newspapers: Links to major online news sources in Western Europe.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
The following electronic and print resources provide scholarly information on all aspects of French language studies. Titles with Ref. Library of Congress call numbers are located in the Reference Collection on the entry level of The Ames Library.
Dictionaries:
- Concise Oxford-Hachette English/French Dictionary 3rd ed., 2004
- Harper-Collins-Robert Unabridged F/E Dictionary: Ref. PC2640.C69 2005
- Modern Colloquial French: Ref. PC2640.H47 1984
- Le Petit Robert, 2009
- Le Petit Robert: dictionnaire de la langue Française: Ref. PC2625.R646 2002
Encyclopedias:
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture: Ref. DC33.7.E53 1998
- Encyclopedia of Modern French Thought: Ref. DC33.7.53 2004
- Encyclopedie ou Dictionairre Raissoné, des Sciences, des Artset des Métiers: Searchable encyclopedia of the Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Lanugage, at the University of Chicago.
- La Grand Larousse Encyclopédique, (1960; supplements.): PQ41.G7
- Medieval France: an encyclopedia: Ref. DC33.2.M44 1995
French Literature
Book of French Quotations with English Translations: PN6086.G5
Dictionary of European Proverbs: Ref. PN6426.5.S77 1994
Electronic Text Collection in Western European Literature
Encyclopedia of World Literature, 20th Century: Ref. PN771.E5 1999
New Oxford Companion to Literature in French: Ref. PQ41.N49 1995
Reference Guide to World Literature: Ref. PN524.R44 2003
Search the Web in French
Contact Me |
Robert Delvin, Fine Arts Librarian, Professor110 Ames Library
Telephone: 309.556.3003
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Thr 1:00-3:00 pm; Friday 10:00 am-Noon; Mon. 7:00-9:00 pm (Sept. 14, 28, Oct. 12, 26, Nov.9, 23, Dec. 7, Jan. 4, 18, Feb. 1, 15, Mar. 1, 15, 29, Apr. 12, 26, May 10, 24)
Send Email
Subjects:
Fine Arts (Art, Music, Theatre Arts), MCLL, Religion
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait