Search Ames Catalog
Search World Cat
Welcome
Hello. This guide will introduce you to general German Language resources available in The Ames Library at Illinois Wesleyan University. It includes information on how to locate:
- Books, Audio & Video Recordings
- Journal Articles
- Key German Language & Culture Information Sources
Find Books & Other Materials
Search Ames Catalog (box at left) for books & other materials owned by IWU.
- Best when searching by title.
- If IWU owns the item you may check it out.
If IWU does not own the item, use I-Share to check other CARLI libraries to see if it is available. If so, you may request the item. If not, search World Cat option below.
VU Find Version of Catalog: an alternative to the classic version of the Ames Catalog with a more modern look & feel. This is particularly good for subject searching.
Search World Cat (box at left) books and other materials worldwide.
- Best when searching by title.
- Choose the
button for availability.
Browse the Shelves:
History: General and Old World
DD 1-905 Germany
Languages & Literature - Modern European Languages
PD 1001-1350 Germanic Languages - Old Germanic Dialects
PF 1-5999 West Germanic Languages
PF 3001-5999 German
PT 1-4897 Germanic Literatures - German Literature
The Ames Library uses Library of Congress Classification.
Journal Articles & Newspapers
Use Quicklinks A-Z Journals to access holdings information about specific journal titles at the Ames Library
Use Quicklinks A-Z Databases to access of list of journal databases available at the Ames Library
Key Journal Article Databases:
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index: Arts & Humanities Citation Index. 1980 to Present.
- Academic Search Premier: 1990 to Present. Offers full-text infomation in nearly every area of academic study.
- Humanities Abstracts: 1984 to Present.
- Humanities Index: 1974 - 1993. A13.H85 (Ames lower level)
- JStor: Offers full-text access to back files of 154 key journals in Language & Literature. Year of coverage vary.
- MLA Bibliography: 1926 to Present. Modern Language Association bibliography of literature, languages, linguistics from journals worldwide.
- Project Muse: 1993 to Present. Offers full-text access to over 160 scholarly journals.
- Selected Western European News & Newspapers: Links to major online news sources in Western Europe.
German Language Periodicals
German Quarterly - PF3001.G3
German Studies Review - DD1.G382
Monatshefte -
PF3003.M6
Der Spiegel - AP30.S66 (latest 2 years only)
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
The following electronic and print resources provide scholarly information on all aspects of German language studies. Titles with Ref. Library of Congress call numbers are located in the Reference Collection on the entry level of The Ames Library.
Dictionaries & Grammer Guides
- Deutsche Grammatik: Ref. PF3031.D82
- Duden: Biltworterbuch: Ref. 3929.D82 1999
- Harper-Collins Unabridged G/E Dictionary: Ref. PF3640.C64 1999
- Muret-Sanders German Dictionary: Ref. PF3640.L242 1992
- Oxford-Duden G/E Dictionary: Ref. PF3640.O94 2005
- Wahrig Deutsches Worterbuch: Ref. PF3625.W2 1978
- German-English Dictionary (Technical University of Chemnitz)
- LEO-English/German Dictionary (Technical University of Munich)
Encyclopedias
- Brokhaus Enzklopadie: AG27.B861 1986 (Ames lower level)
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture: Ref. DD2290.26.E53 1999
- Encyclopedia of the Third Reich: Ref. DD256.5.G76313 1991
- German Culture and Society: Ref. DD67.G48 2002
- Historical Dictionary...Weimar Republic, 1918-1933: Ref. DD84.V56 1997
- Medieval Germany: an Encyclopedia: Ref. DD157.M43 2001
- Meyers Lexicon (Brockhuaus in einem Band)
German Literature
19th Century German Stories: Web editions for language learning and literary study
Encyclopedia of World Literature, 20th Century: Ref. PN771.E5 1999
Kinders Literatur Lexidion: PT.41.K55
Oxford Companion to German Literature: Ref. PT41.G3 1997
Reallexikon der Deutschen Literaturgeschichte: PT41.Rr
Reference Guide to World Literature: Ref. PN524.R44 2003
Search the Web in German
Contact Me |
Robert Delvin, Fine Arts Librarian, Professor110 Ames Library
Telephone: 309.556.3003
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Thr 1:00-3:00 pm; Friday 10:00 am-Noon; Mon. 7:00-9:00 pm (Sept. 14, 28, Oct. 12, 26, Nov.9, 23, Dec. 7, Jan. 4, 18, Feb. 1, 15, Mar. 1, 15, 29, Apr. 12, 26, May 10, 24)
Send Email
Subjects:
Fine Arts (Art, Music, Theatre Arts), MCLL, Religion
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait