Sources for historical information about Illinois Wesleyan University from 1850-present.
Published IWU histories are available for use in the Ames Library and online via our Internet Archive site and other locations (follow the links below). The Myers & Teichman text is also for sale in the IWU bookstore.
The links below contain a variety of sources for research about the development of IWU: people, places and events are documented in photographs, publications, personal ephemera and scholarly and creative works. You can keep track of collection highlights and additions by subscribing to the archives' blog.
Note: Not everything there is to know about IWU is available online! See the Physical Collections section below for more clues. If you are not sure where to start or have questions about finding specific information, contact University Archivist Meg Miner by any of the means listed in the sidebar to the right.
- Digital Commons communities
This page leads to departmental records, faculty scholarly and creative works, and student works that are deemed "excellent" by faculty. Honors theses are listed with their discipline but all authors are searchable by name.
- Faculty & Staff Works
A list of links for faculty and staff members who have created individual webpages consisting of their scholarly and creative works.
- Florence and Marion Bird Correspondence Collection
Over 900 handwritten letters between IWU alumna Florence Ralph (’30) and Marion T. Bird are contained in this collection. The letters cover a wide range of topics from faith to politics, school activities, local events, family and more — all the details young people might share during a long courtship in a tumultuous time in American history. The letters in this collection have not been transcribed at this time. Readers are welcome to contribute transcriptions they create or additional subject headings they identify.
- Historical photographs & more
These selections from records located in the University Archives illustrate some of the growth and changes to Illinois Wesleyan University through photographs, documents and film. Background information for many of the photographs (approximate dates, names, etc.) is missing. If you have information to add contact email@example.com
- Illinois Women in Education
This website leads to documents about early statewide educational efforts for women. Concern for education in the state grew between 1840 and 1860. In 1845, the Secretary of State was designated State Superintendent of Public Instruction. The first meetings of the Illinois Education Society were held in 1846.
- IWU Bulletins
The Bulletin of Illinois Wesleyan University was published to convey news and images of the campus to alumni, faculty, staff, students and prospective students. The issues contained in this collection span the years 1902-1986 and represent the entire holdings of the University Archives.
- Journals and Peer-reviewed Series
Works produced by honors societies and specific disciplines; editorial boards are comprised of students in these disciplines.
- Oral Histories
Transcripts, recordings and photographs of the interviewed subjects. All interviews from 2009-present were recorded digitally. Earlier recordings were digitized from other media types held in the University's Archives and contain both interviews and recorded events that provide insights into IWU's life and culture.
- Press Releases
University Communications' releases from 1999-present.
- Student conferences & Campus events
Abstracts for student research and creative works for 20 years. In 2009, we began uploading full text papers, recordings, and photographs of works presented at the John Wesley Powell Research Conference.
- Student publications, 1870-present
This collection consists of The Argus and ten other titles published by students and alumni of Illinois Wesleyan University. These records hold the opinions and artistry of students, alumni, faculty and administrators in the form of news about campus events, orations and essays spanning nearly every year from 1870 to the present.
- The Wesleyana
Scanned copies of IWU's yearbook, the Wesleyana from 1895-2000. There were no books published between 2001-2009 but beginning in 2010, pdfs have been acquired as printed copies are produced.
- WGLT Interviews
The local Public Radio station, WGLT, occasionally interviews faculty about their work. We have transcribed those recordings and present them with audio files donated to us by WGLT.
- World War II Correspondence
Currently contains a collection of letters written by former IWU faculty member Fred "Bud" Brian, Class of 1950, to members of his family during his time in the Army Air Corps: 1943-1945. Many of these letters contain drawings and some have photographs and telegrams associated with them. If you have a collection of letters to contribute, contact firstname.lastname@example.org
- Archives & Special Collections blog
Collection highlights and information about IWU’s Tate Archives & Special Collections.
Visitors to Tate Archives & Special Collections are welcome! The links below contain descriptions of the types of material you will find in this department on the Ames Library's fourth floor. Please visit the archives homepage for hours or contact University Archivist Meg Miner for details.
- Archives Finding Aid
A long list outlining collections in IWU's archives
- Special Collections
A page with links to descriptions for material that is not all directly related to IWU's history but that holds fascinating research opportunities nonetheless!
The powerpoint and notes for the 2010 Homecoming
presentation are linked below.