Search Ames Catalog
Search World Cat
Welcome
Hello. This guide will introduce you to general Japanese Language resources available in The Ames Library at Illinois Wesleyan University. It includes information on how to locate:
- Books, Audio & Video Recordings
- Journal Articles
- Key Japanese Language & Culture Information Sources
Find Books & Other Materials
Search Ames Catalog (box at left) for books & other materials owned by IWU.
- Best when searching by title.
- If IWU owns the item you may check it out.
- If IWU does not own the item, use I-Share to check other CARLI libraries to see if it is available. If so, you may request the item. If not, search World Cat option below.
VU Find Version of Catalog: an alternative to the classic version of the Ames Catalog with a more modern look & feel. This is particularly good for subject searching.
Search World Cat (box at left) for books and other materials worldwide.
- Best when searching by title.
- Choose the
button for availability.
Browse the Shelves:
History: General and Old World
DS 801-897 Japan
Languages and Literature
PL 501-889 Japanese
The Ames Library uses Library of Congress Classification.
Journal Articles
Use Quicklinks A-Z Journals to access holdings information about specific journal titles at the Ames Library
Use Quicklinks A-Z Databases to access of list of journal databases available at the Ames Library
Key Journal Article Databases:
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index: Arts & Humanities Citation Index. 1980 to Present.
- Academic Search Premier: 1990 to Present. Offers full-text infomation in nearly every area of academic study.
- Essay and General Literature Index (print) 1900 - 1992 A13.E752
- Essay and General Literature: 1985 to Present
- Humanities Abstracts: 1984 to Present.
- Humanities Index (print) 1974 - 1993 A13.H85
- JStor: Offers full-text access to back files of 47 core scholarly journals in Religion. Year of coverage vary.
- MLA Bibliography: 1926 to Present. Modern Language Association bibliography of literature, languages, linguistics from journals worldwide.
- Project Muse: 1993 to Present. Offers full-text access to over 160 scholarly journals.
- Selected Western European News & Newspapers: Links to major online news sources in Western Europe.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
The following electronic and print resources provide scholarly information on all aspects of Japanese language studies. Titles with Ref. Library of Congress call numbers are located in the Reference Collection on the entry level of The Ames Library.
Dictionaries:
| Basic Japanese-English Dictionary | Ref. 679.B37 1993 |
| A Dictionary of Japanese Grammar | Ref. PL533.M25 1989 |
| Dictionary of Japanese Particles | Ref. PL601.K38 1989 |
| Japanese Character Dictionary | Ref. PL667.S6 1989 |
| Kenkyusha Furigana E/J Dictionary | Ref. PL679.F87 1990 |
| Kodansha Furigana E/J Dictionary | Ref. PL679.K67 1996 |
| Nelson J/E Character Dictionary | Ref. PL679.N4 1974 |
| New Dictionary of Kangi Usage | Ref. PL679.K87 1982 |
| NTC's New Japanese-English Character Dictionary | Ref. PL679.N72 1983 |
| The Oxford-Duden Pictorial English-Japanese Dictionary | Ref. PL 679.P29 1986 |
Encyclopedias:
| Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture | Ref. DS822.5.E516 2002 |
| Japan : An Illustrated Encyclopedia | Ref. DS805.K633 1983 |
| Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan | Ref. DS 805.K633 1983 |
Japanese Literature & Culture
Duke University Libraries: Japanese Studies Resources
Encyclopedia of World Literature, 20th Century: Ref. PN771.E5 1999
Internet Public Library Online: Literary Criticism: Links to websites on western & non-western literary criticism. Organized by author, title of work studied and by literary period within a national tradition.
Japan Culture Plaza: Provides information about Japanese culture and society. Maintained by the Japanese Association for Cultural Exchange.
J-Guide: Stanford Guide to Japan Information Resources
Japan Information Network: Provides information about Japanese culture and society. Maintained by the Japanese Center for Inter-cultural Comminications.
Literature Research Guide: Ref. PR83.H376 2008
Modern Japanese Authors: Ref. PL723.M563 2001
Reference Guide to World Literature: Ref. PN524.R44 2003
Yamada Language Center: Japanese Language Resources
Contact Me |
Robert Delvin, Fine Arts Librarian, Professor110 Ames Library
Telephone: 309.556.3003
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Thr 1:00-3:00 pm; Friday 10:00 am-Noon; Mon. 7:00-9:00 pm (Sept. 14, 28, Oct. 12, 26, Nov.9, 23, Dec. 7, Jan. 4, 18, Feb. 1, 15, Mar. 1, 15, 29, Apr. 12, 26, May 10, 24)
Send Email
Subjects:
Fine Arts (Art, Music, Theatre Arts), MCLL, Religion
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait