This is the "Physics Resources" page of the "Physics Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physics Resources  

Last Updated: Sep 27, 2012 URL: http://libguides.iwu.edu/physics Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Physics Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quicklinks

 

Article Databases

Welcome to the Ames Library's subject guide for physics. The resources listed in this guide include research databases as well as specific physics journals. Also included are several inks to preprint servers, which contain the latest physics research. For help with your research or any of these resources, please feel free to contact me.

The following databases are arranged by depth of physics, astronomy, and related science coverage. Science Citation Index has coverage of all aspects within physics and astronomy, while Academic Search Premier covers broad topics in science. An IWU netID and password are required for off campus access.

  • Academic Search Premier
    Provides full text for over 4,600 journals and magazines, including book reviews, in a wide variety of disciplines, including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology and more. Excellent starting point.
  • arXiv
    e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution.
  • Astrophysical Data System
    Resource for researchers in astronomy, astrophysics, and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. Contains more than 9.2 million records.
  • Physics Abstracts 1921-30; 1941-48; 1961-78(print). Location: QC1.P46 (4th floor)
    Use this print resource to find abstracts for publications from 1921-1978 that may not be included in more recent research databases.
  • Royal Society Historical Journal Archive
    Contains around 60,000 historical scientific papers published more than 70 years ago by The Royal Society, one of the world's oldest scientific publishers. Included is the first edition of Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, appearing in 1665.
  • Web of Science: Science Citation Index
    This database indexes leading science and technology journals as well as some symposia proceedings. It features cited reference searching, which allows users to discover who has cited a particular article or author. Coverage goes back to 1975.

Quick Reference Sources for Physics & Astronomy

  • American Institute of Physics Handbook
    QC 61 .A5 1972
  • CRC Handbook of Thermophysical and Thermochemical Data
    QC 173.397.L53 1994
  • The Laws List
    A list of various laws, rules, principles, and other related topics in physics and astronomy.
  • SIMBAD Astronomical Database
    Provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.

Contact me

Profile Image
Karen Schmidt
 

General Physics Resources

Use these resources the way you use Wikipedia: to get background information on your research topic, or to search for or narrow down a topic. Then use the databases and preprint server links to find research articles.

This service is maintained by The Ames Library. Please contact us with any problems or suggestions.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip