Search Ames Catalog
Find Journals
Use this tool to locate a specific journal, or to find an article if you have a complete citation.
Welcome
This guide connects you to a wide variety of online and print resources for the study and research of psychology. For research assistance, please contact the Psychology Library Liaison, Stephanie Davis-Kahl by email, phone or chat. Contact information is in the box to the right.
Key Databases
PsycINFO
The major database for all aspects of psychology and the best starting point for most research in psychology. Covers articles, conference proceedings, dissertations and chapters in books for psychology and related disciplines. International in scope. Can limit to empirical methodology, year of publication, and more. (1806 - present)
Social Science Citation Index
Multidisciplinary database covering social sciences that allows tracking of who has cited a specific article or author. Very helpful when you locate an article that is of interest topically, but is perhaps dated. Also helpful to gain a perspective on how research develops over time. (1980 to present)
MEDLINE
"Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings)." (1950 to present)
Additonal Databases
Child Development Abstracts
Print index focused on the broad area of child development. After searching the print index, use the Find Journals tool to see if IWU subscribes to the journal you need. (1967 - present)
Academic Search Premier
Very broad, multidisciplinary database with excellent coverage of peer-reviewed journals, much of which is full-text. (time coverage varies with journal)
PsycARTICLES
Full text of 50+ American Psychological Association journals. Great resource if you're starting a paper or project the day before the deadline, which I'm sure never happens. ;)
How to Contact Me |
Stephanie Davis-Kahl![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Scholarly Communications Librarian
The Ames Library, Room 201B
309-556-3010
Office Hours are listed below
Send Email
Subjects:
Computer Science, Educational Studies, Mathematics, Psychology
On Call & Office Hours, Fall 2009
I am available for research assistance during the following days/times:
Office Hours
Tuesdays, 11 am - 12 noon (Ames 201B)
Wednesdays, 9:30 am - 11:30 am (CNS Lab)
Thursdays, 10 am - 12 noon (Ames 201B)
On Call/Info Desk
Mondays, 1 pm - 3 pm
Tuesdays, 10 am - 11 am
Evening On Call/Info Desk Hours, 7 pm - 9 pm (Ames 201B)
Tuesdays:
September 15, 29
October 13, 27
December 8
Sundays
October 18
January 24
Or, you can email or call me to set up an appointment outside of the hours listed above.
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait