This is the "Facts, Maps, Atlases, & Statistics" page of the "Facts/Reference" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Facts/Reference  

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, fact books, biographical info, newspapers,and citation style manuals
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.iwu.edu/quickfacts Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Facts, Maps, Atlases, & Statistics Print Page
  Search: 
 

Atlases & Maps

  • National Geographic Xpeditions Maps
    This interactive tool provides lessons plans, activites and an atlas to explore the world of geography. It has a search function you can use to search for specific geographic terms, locations, ideas within grade levels (or not).
  • Harvard Map Collection-Digital Maps
    A great source for digital maps. The collection features maps from around the world, with special emphasis on New England and Massachusetts.
  • Maplandia
    Maplandia is a searchable online database of worldwide geographical features. The site offers basic information on continent, country, first-level administrative district, geographical coordinates, and national flag graphic; however, its interactive maps, satellite images, and user-generated content make it distinctive.
  • Worldmapper
    Besides offering just geographical maps, the site also includes information on population, manufacturing and production; transportation, movement, communication; health, disease, and death; religion and language; and food, housing, and education
  • Show /World
    Uses graphics to grow and shrink country size by data such as people, business, politics, with subheadings. Each cartogram had details about the source and currency of the data. Info can be downloaded and embedded for reuse.

Statistical Resources - US & Foreign

Top half are USA statistical resources and the bottom half are worl statistical resources.

  • U.S. Government Documents
    Official U.S. content management system for all government document publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
  • Data.GOV -- Executive Branch Documents
    Data sets of the executive branch of the federal government. Easy to use features help navigate you around the site.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    U.S. Census Bureau statisics on population, health elections, housing, natural resources and many other topics. Also does some comparisons to international statisitcs. Appendices direct you to other statistical tools.
  • Statistical Abstracts of the US
    Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
  • USA Trade Online
    Current and cumulative U.S. export and import data on more than 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities worldwide; monthly and annual trade statistics at the district and port level, as well as state exports.
  • USA.GOV
    More than statisitcs, its the official portal to all federal and state government information. From social security benefits, jobs, voter registration, public safety, environment, taxes and consumer guides; this site will lead you to souorces that the government collects information about.
  • AMERICAN FACT FINDER
    U.S. Census data, census clock, detailed data on age, sex, households, families, the population in group quarters, and housing units. Also included are counts for many race and Hispanic or Latino categories. State by state information is included.
  • Information Please Almanac
    Almanac of short factual information such as U.S. Presidents, sports trivia, calendar and holiday details, world structures & buildings, and inventions.
  • Housing and Urban Development
    HUD is a source of reports and data complied on housing policy and programs, building technology, economic development, and city planning. HUD offers full ext of more than 500 housing reports, including regional and metropolitan housing market analyses.
  • Measure of America
    The American Human development index is a composite measure of wellbeing and opportunity. It combines indicators in three fundamental areas: health, knowledge, and standard of living, into a single number that falls on a scale between 1 and 10.
  • Tax Statistics
    This section of the IRS website provides a plethora of information about taxes and the tax system and is the ideal place to begin if doing research on taxes.
  • University of Michigan Statistical Resources on the Web
    A wealth of statistical information developed by the University of Michigan Libraries. You can search by subject and narrow the search by subtopic on the right side of the page. Most of the research is based on government documents.
  • Europa World
    Political and economic information in 250 countries.
  • World Factbook
    This factbook provides brief descriiptions of each of the 266 world entities including information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues. The tabs includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as flags, a physical map, a political map, and standard time zones for the world map.
  • World Development Indicators
    Access to more than 865 development indicators with time series for more than 225 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to the present, where data are available. Produced by The World Bank Group.
  • Foreign Information by Country
    Collection of links to websites for approximately 245 countries/territories with profiles and and information in seven categories. Very in depth comprehensive information about the countries but is not graphically pleasing to use.
  • Eurostat
    Eurostat is a statistical unit of the European Union whose mission is to provide a "high-quality statistical informational service." Data is collected from the National Statistics Institute, the enlarged European Union, candidate countries, and the European Free Trade Association.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sue Anderson
Contact Info
Ames Library
Office: Rm 139
309-556-3358 Office Hrs: Tues.2-3, Thur. 9-11 Fri. 10-11, 2-3
309-556-3261- fax
Research Hours:,
Send Email
 
This service is maintained by The Ames Library. Please contact us with any problems or suggestions.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip