Search Ames Catalog
Search World Cat
Welcome
Hello. This guide will introduce you to general Religion resources available in The Ames Library at Illinois Wesleyan University. It includes information on how to locate:
- Books, Audio &Video Recordings
- Journal Articles
- Key Relgion Information Sources (print & eclectronic)
Find Books & Other Materials
Search Ames Catalog (box at left) for books & other materials owned by IWU.
- Best when searching by title.
- If IWU owns the item you may check it out.
- If IWU does not own the item, use I-Share to check other CARLI libraries to see if it is available. If so, you may request the item. If not, search World Cat option below.
VU Find Version of Catalog: an alternative to the classic version of the Ames Catalog with a more modern look & feel. This is particularly good for subject searching.
Search World Cat (box at left) for books and other materials worldwide.
- Best when searching by title.
- Choose the
button for availability.
Browse the Shelves:
BL 74-98 Religions of the world
BL 175-290
Natural theology
BL 300-325 Myths. Comparative
mythology
BL 425-490 Religious doctrines
(General)
BL 500-547 Eschatology
BL 550-619
Worship. Cults
BL 624-627 Religious life
BL
660-2670 History and principles of
religions
BL 1100-1295
Hinduism
BL 1300-1380
Jainism
BL 1600-1695
Semitic
BL 2400-2490
African
BL 2700-2790 Rationalism
BM 1-990
Judaism
BP 1-610 Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy,
etc.
BQ 1-9800 Buddhism
BR 1-1725
Christianity
BS 1-2970 The Bible
BT 10-1480
Doctrinal theology
BV 1-5099 Practical
theology
BX 1-9999 Christian denominations
The Ames Library uses Library of Congress Classification.
Find Journal Articles
Use Quicklinks A-Z Journals to access holdings information about specific journal titles at the Ames Library
Use Quicklinks A-Z Databases to access of list of journal databases available at the Ames Library
Key Religion Journal Databases:
Introductory level
- Academic Search Premier: 1990 to Present. Offers full-text infomation in nearly every area of academic study.
- Humanities Abstracts: 1984 to Present.
- Wilson OmniFile Select: 1994 to Present. Offers full-text access to 1400 professional, academic journals.
Advanced level
- ATLA Religion Database: Provides infromation on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index: Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- JStor: Offers full-text access to back files of 47 core scholarly journals in Religion. Year of coverage vary.
- Project Muse: 1993 to Present. Offers full-text access to over 160 scholarly journals.
- Religious and Theological Abstracts: BR1. R286 Coverage: 1964 to 1993.
Key Religion Information Sources
The following electronic and print resources provide scholarly information on all aspects of Religion studies. Titles with Ref. Library of Congress call numbers are located in the Reference Collection on the entry level of The Ames Library. Other titles are located in the lower level stacks.
Electronic Resources:
- Bible Gateway: Searches for Biblical Scripture in your choice of language and translation
- Oxford Reference Online: Religion & Philosphy Links to seperate titles in the ORO series of topical dictionaries and encyclopedias
- Religious Movements Homepage: Profiles and descriptions of over 200 religious groups and movements
- T-C Links: Other sites dealing with Textual Criticism: List of sites on textual criticism including manuscritps images, various editions of Biblical texts, links to reference sources and related sites.
- Virtual Religion: Index of topics and links on various religions of the world
Print Resources:
- Encyclopedia of Buddhsim (Buswell) Ref. BQ128 E62 2004
- Encyclopedia of Christianity (Eerdmans) Ref. B95.E8193 1999, v.1-3
- Encyclopedia of Religion (Jones) Ref. B31.E46 2005 A comprehensive coverage of contemporary, historic, world religions and religious movements
- Oxford Dictionary of Islam (Esposito) Ref. BP40.O95 2003
- NRSV Exhaustive Concordance (Metzger) Ref. BS425.N453 1991
- Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church (Cross) Ref. BR95.O8 1997
- Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion (Werblowsky) Ref. BM50.O94 1997
- Religions of the Ancient World (Johnston) Ref. BL687.R47 2004
Contact Me |
Robert Delvin, Fine Arts Librarian, Professor110 Ames Library
Telephone: 309.556.3003
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Thr 1:00-3:00 pm; Friday 10:00 am-Noon; Mon. 7:00-9:00 pm (Sept. 14, 28, Oct. 12, 26, Nov.9, 23, Dec. 7, Jan. 4, 18, Feb. 1, 15, Mar. 1, 15, 29, Apr. 12, 26, May 10, 24)
Send Email
Subjects:
Fine Arts (Art, Music, Theatre Arts), MCLL, Religion
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait