Search Ames Catalog
Search World Cat
Welcome
Hello. This guide will introduce you to general Russian Language resources available in The Ames Library at Illinois Wesleyan University. It includes information on how to locate:
- Books, Audio & Video Recordings
- Journal Articles
- Key Russian Language & Culture Information Sources
Find Books & Other Materials
Search Ames Catalog (box at left) for books & other materials owned by IWU.
- Best when searching by title.
- If IWU owns the item you may check it out.
- If IWU does not own the item, use I-Share to check other CARLI libraries to see if it is available. If so, you may request the item. If not, search World Cat option below.
VU Find Version of Catalog: an alternative to the classic version of the Ames Catalog with a more modern look & feel. This is particularly good for subject searching.
Search World Cat (box at left) for books and other materials worldwide.
- Best when searching by title.
- Choose the
button for availability.
Browse the Shelves:
History: General and Old
World
DJK 1-77 Eastern
Europe
DK 1-973 Soviet
Union
Languages and
Literature
PG 2001-3987
Russian, White Russian, and Ukrainian literature and
languages
The Ames Library uses Library of Congress Classification.
Journal Articles & Newspapers
Use Quicklinks A-Z Journals to access holdings information about specific journal titles at the Ames Library
Use Quicklinks A-Z Databases to access of list of journal databases available at the Ames Library
Journal Article Databases:
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index: Arts & Humanities Citation Index. 1980 to Present.
- Academic Search Premier: 1990 to Present. Offers full-text infomation in nearly every area of academic study.
- Essay and General Literature Index: 1900 - 1992 A13.E752
- Essay and General Literture: 1985 to Present
- Humanities Abstracts: 1984 to Present.
- Humanities Index: 1974 - 1993. A13.H85 (Ames lower level)
- JStor: Offers full-text access to back files of 47 core scholarly journals in Religion. Year of coverage vary.
- MLA Bibliography: 1926 to Present. Modern Language Association bibliography of literature, languages, linguistics from journals worldwide.
- Project Muse: 1993 to Present. Offers full-text access to over 160 scholarly journals.
Newspapers:
- Lenta. Russia: Included access to contantly updated full-text news from selected Russian, independent and international information agencies
- Russia Today: Service of the European Information Network. Provides current news and translations of articles from selected Russian newspapers.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
The following electronic and print resources provide scholarly information on all aspects of Russian language studies. Titles with Ref. Library of Congress call numbers are located in the Reference Collection on the entry level of The Ames Library.
Dictionaries:
- Elsevier Russian-English Dictionary: Ref. PG2640.M182 1990
- New Russian Dictionary (Galperin): Ref. PG2640.G3 1987
- NTC New College Russian-English Dictionary: Ref. PG2640.N786 1996
- Oxford Russian-English Dictionary: Ref. PG2640.W5 2000
Encyclopedias:
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary Russican Culture: Ref. DK510.32.E53 2007
- Encyclopedia of Russian History: Ref. DK14.E53 2004
- Historical Dictionary of Russia: Ref. DK36.R39 1998
Russian Literature
Encyclopedia of World Literature, 20th Century: Ref. PN771.E5 1999
European Authors 1000-1900: Ref. PN451.K8
Reference Guide to Russian Literature: Ref. PG524.R44 2003
Reference Guide to World Literature: Ref. PN524.R44 2003
World Authors 1900-1950: Ref. PN451.W674 1996
World Authors 1950-1970: Ref. PN451.W3
World Authors 1995-2000: Ref. PN451.W676 2003
Search the Web in Russian
Contact Me |
Robert Delvin, Fine Arts Librarian, Professor110 Ames Library
Telephone: 309.556.3003
Office Hours: Mon/Wed/Thr 1:00-3:00 pm; Friday 10:00 am-Noon; Mon. 7:00-9:00 pm (Sept. 14, 28, Oct. 12, 26, Nov.9, 23, Dec. 7, Jan. 4, 18, Feb. 1, 15, Mar. 1, 15, 29, Apr. 12, 26, May 10, 24)
Send Email
Subjects:
Fine Arts (Art, Music, Theatre Arts), MCLL, Religion
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait